State laws vary on the types of spousal support and spousal maintenance allowed during and after the divorce. Even if you have lived in Texas all of your life, it is not likely that you could understand all of the intricacies of divorce law. Leigh Ann Schenk has worked hard to create a full-service firm, and part of that has been becoming a knowledgeable spousal support lawyer.

In the state of Texas, alimony or spousal support options differ from many other states. Spousal support in Texas can require the spouse with a greater income provide temporary spousal support to the other spouse during the divorce.

Courts have routinely decided against alimony payments, but have enacted laws which will provide a minimum amount of spousal support for a set time to allow a spouse to get the proper training to be able to re-enter the workforce and support themselves. If you are seeking temporary support you must be able to prove what financial resources are available and if your spouse can meet those financial needs. Prior to assigning temporary support payments, divorce courts will evaluate the needs of the spouse and the financial ability of the other spouse to pay.

Texas courts will evaluate the following criteria to calculate spousal support:

  • The amount of individual and community property and the financial ability of one spouse to support the other financially.
  • Effort by the spouse to seek employment.
  • Any misconduct of the spouse needing spousal support.
  • The skill levels in the education background of each spouse.
  • The duration of the marriage.
  • The responsibility of the spouse to care for children.
  • The health condition of the spouses.
  • The age, work history, and wage earning potential of each spouse.
  • How much one spouse contributed to the education of the other spouse or their employment opportunities.
  • Contribution of one spouse as a homemaker.

One party may be eligible for spousal maintenance which is financial support after the date of divorce. The following criteria could be used to calculate spousal support after the divorce proceedings:

  1. The requesting spouse is the primary caretaker of a child who needs care, the marriage lasted at least 10 years, and the spouse lacks sufficient means to remain at home to care for the child.
  2. The paying spouse committed a violent crime against the other spouse within 2 years before the date of the divorce.
  3. The requesting spouse does not have enough property to support themselves sufficiently and does not have the educational skills to enter the labor market to work and provide for their personal needs.

In some cases, spousal support can be set at the lesser of 20% of the paying spouse’s gross income or $2,500 per month for up to three years duration. This amount is not guaranteed, but would be the maximum amount allowed. It is important to discuss all options and rules with an experienced family divorce lawyer. Leigh Ann can help you understand what actions, like getting a job, will do to reduce or eliminate spousal maintenance.

Call 817-860-9998 today with any divorce and family law questions.

Let's work together